Joplin Area Chamber of Commerce and Liberty Announce 2024 Golden Apple Award Winners

(Joplin, MO) – The Joplin Area Chamber of Commerce and Liberty are excited to announce the winners of the 2024 Golden Apple Awards. 

For 39 years, the Golden Apple Awards have recognized excellence in the teaching profession and informed the public of exceptional quality of instruction in the Joplin community. This year, 67 teachers from Joplin’s private and public schools were nominated by peers, students, and parents.  

The winners of the 2024 Golden Apple Awards are: 

Kindergarten to Second Grade 

  • Sara Meyer, Irving Elementary School 

Third to Fifth Grade 

  • Clayton Carnahan, Thomas Jefferson Independent Day School 

Sixth to Eighth Grade   

  • Carrie Doll, South Middle School 

Ninth to Twelfth Grade 

  • Julie McCain, Joplin High School 

All nominees and the individuals who nominated them were recognized during a ceremony on Monday, May 13 at Missouri Southern State University’s Corley Auditorium.  

The Chamber would like to thank the students and parents who took the time to submit nominations this year. And a special thank you to the title sponsor of this year’s program, Liberty Utilities, and the presenting sponsor, Missouri Southern State University’s Teacher Education Department.  


Erin Slifka, Director of Sales & Marketing
Joplin Area Chamber of Commerce

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.