Missouri Southern State University’s Student Chapter of SHRM Receives Merit Award

Image Credit: Curtis Almeter, Missouri Southern State University

(Joplin, MO) – The Society for Human Resource Management (SHRM) student chapter at Missouri Southern State University (MSSU) has been awarded a 2021-2022 Superior Merit Award for providing superior growth and development opportunities to its student members.

Dr. Sarah Holtzen, assistant professor of management, and Dr. Megan Douglas, associate professor of management, serve as co-advisors for the student chapter at Missouri Southern. Holtzen said she is proud of the dedicated members of the student chapter who had worked hard to make this organization what it is today.

“This honor is well-deserved. Our students here at the Plaster School of Business are insightful, professional, and committed to sharing their talents with the campus community and beyond,” said Holtzen. “We are excited to see what the future holds for the MSSU student chapter of SHRM as it continues to grow.”

The student chapter, which was created in the spring of 2021, is sponsored at the professional level by the Tri-State Human Resources Association and has engaged in a variety of activities aimed at campus, community, and professional development since it was created.

The current executive officers — all senior human resource management majors — are: Lakyn Shallenburger, Carl Junction, Missouri (president); Hallie Turner, Baxter Springs, Kansas (vice president); Megan Staggs, Webb City, Missouri (treasurer); and Hailey Hauck, senior, O’Fallon, Missouri (secretary).

SHRM has more than 300,000 HR and business executive members in 165 countries. Student chapters are recognized based on operations, chapter programming and professional development of members, support of the human resource profession, and SHRM engagement.


University Relations & Marketing
Missouri Southern State University

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.