Historic Preservation Commission to Honor Local Historians During Ceremony on June 15

(Joplin, MO) – The Joplin Historic Preservation Commission will present the 2021 Joplin Historic Preservation Awards at 3:00 pm on Tuesday, June 15 in the main lobby of Joplin City Hall. The public is invited to attend.

The Joplin Historic Preservation Awards were established in 2019 to recognize people who have made significant contributions to historic preservation in the City of Joplin. The Commission will present three awards during the event.

The Leslie Simpson Award – Awarded to an individual who has made significant contributions to historic preservation in Joplin by way of preservation administration, education, events, outreach, planning, research, or service. This year’s recipient is Nancy Morton, former chairperson of the Historic Preservation Commission.

The Jeff & Carolina Neal Award – Awarded to people who have made significant developments to historic preservation in Joplin by way of developing and restoring/revitalizing buildings and property within Joplin’s commercial corridors. Lori & Jeremy Haun, downtown property owners, have been selected for this year’s award.

The Murphysburg Award – Awarded to neighborhood groups or residential property owners regardless of whether their properties are in Murphysburg proper who demonstrate the capacity for and illustrate the preservation of their homes, whether through achieving Local Landmark status, Local Historic District Status, community/neighborhood development, or otherwise making significant contributions to heritage/historic preservation in Joplin. This award will be given to the North Heights neighborhood.

For more information, contact Thomas Walters with the City of Joplin at 417.624.0820, est. 1539 or twalters@joplinmo.org.


Thomas Walters
City of Joplin
417.624.0820, ext. 1539

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.