Sixty-Seven Joplin Educators Nominated for 39th Annual Golden Apple Awards

(Joplin, MO)The Joplin Area Chamber of Commerce and Liberty Utilities are pleased to announce that nominations were received for 67 Joplin educators for the 2024 Golden Apple Awards! 

 For 39 years, the Golden Apple Awards have recognized excellence in the teaching profession and informed the public of exceptional quality of instruction in the Joplin community. The individuals listed below were nominated by students, parents, and peers in Joplin’s public and private schools.  

 Judging for each category will take place over the next month. All nominees and the individuals who nominated them will be recognized during a reception on Monday, May 13 at Missouri Southern State University’s Corley Auditorium. The awardees from each category will also be announced during the program.  

 The nominees are:  

Kindergarten to Second Grade 

Sydni Beck  Cecil Floyd Elementary School 
Madison Fowler  Jefferson Elementary School 
Melissa Kimberling  Cecil Floyd Elementary School 
Shelby Koeshall  Soaring Heights Elementary School 
Desiree Limkeman  College Heights Christian School 
Sarah Long  Irving Elementary School 
Sara Meyer  Irving Elementary School 
Shamera Moss  Irving Elementary School 
Kerri Myers  Thomas Jefferson Independent Day School 
Andrea Read  Stapleton Elementary School 
Staci Saunders  Stapleton Elementary School 
Kelli Schamber  Kelsey Norman Elementary School 
Morgan Secrist  Kelsey Norman Elementary School 
Michele Silvey  College Heights Christian School 
Jaylee Todd  Dover Hill Elementary School 
Kelsey Vene  Cecil Floyd Elementary School 
Bailey Wallace  Irving Elementary School 
Anna Wieneke  Soaring Heights Elementary School 
Dazesha Williams  McKinley Elementary School 


Third to Fifth Grade  

Rebecca Askew  College Heights Christian School 
Whitney Benfield  Irving Elementary School 
Kalynne Bready  Eastmorland Elementary School 
Victoria Campbell  Irving Elementary School 
Clayton Carnahan  Thomas Jefferson Independent Day School 
Aaron Dogotch  College Heights Christian School 
Kristen Gavenda  Jefferson Elementary School 
Kyle Graves  Eastmorland Elementary School 
Leah Gurley  Irving Elementary School 
Ashley Kerr  Soaring Heights Elementary School 
Kacey Kimbrough  College Heights Christian School 
Roxcee McCulley  Soaring Heights Elementary School 
Amberly Mobley  Royal Heights Elementary School 
Carrie Owen  Stapleton Elementary School 
Savanna Parker  Irving Elementary School 
Terryle Pullum  Soaring Heights Elementary School 
Debi Staton  St. Mary’s Elementary School 
Tyler VanCleave  McKinley Elementary School 


Sixth to Eighth Grade    

Brian Barham  South Middle School 
Marcia Cannon  North Middle School 
Whitney Cummings  North Middle School 
CarrieDoll  South Middle School 
Jessica Fletcher-Fiero  East Middle School 
Michelle Friskey  North Middle School 
Amanda Hutcheson  East Middle School 
Katie Juergens  North Middle School 
Natalie Kayser  South Middle School 
Marissa Mitchell  East Middle School 
Jenny Moore  East Middle School 
Kenneth Peters  South Middle School 
Nicole Peters  South Middle School 
Jessica Sewing  East Middle School 
Crystal Stokes  North Middle School 
Tanya Tupper  South Middle School 
Margo Wahpekeche  North Middle School 
Cheri Wright  East Middle School 


Ninth to Twelfth Grade  

Adam Bennett  Joplin High School 
Ryan Burnside  Joplin High School 
Josh Carter  Joplin High School 
Brad Douglas  Joplin High School 
Alan Linden  Joplin High School 
Julie McCain  Joplin High School 
LTC Joshua Reitz  Joplin High School 
Monica Reynolds-Brown  Joplin High School 
Tracy Saunders  Joplin High School 
Luke Smith  Joplin High School 
Janel White  Joplin High School 

 Congratulations to all the teachers who were nominated! The Chamber would like to thank the students and parents who took the time to nominate these educators. And a special thank you to the title sponsor of this year’s program, Liberty Utilities, and the presenting sponsor, Missouri Southern State University’s Teacher Education Department.  


Erin Slifka, Marketing & Public Information Manager
Joplin Area Chamber of Commerce

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.