Sixty-Five Educators Nominated for the 38th Annual Golden Apple Awards

(Joplin, MO) – The Joplin Area Chamber of Commerce is pleased to announce that nominations were received for 65 Joplin educators for the 2023 Golden Apple Awards. For 38 years, the Golden Apple Awards have recognized excellence in the teaching profession and informed the public of the exceptional quality of instruction in the Joplin community!

The individuals listed below were nominated by students, parents, and peers in Joplin’s public and private schools. All nominees and the individuals who nominated them were recognized at an assembly on March 13 at Missouri Southern State University’s Criminal Justice Center Auditorium.

Judging will take place over the next month and the awardees in each of the four categories will be announced at the Joplin Area Chamber of Commerce’s Annual Banquet on Thursday, April 27 at 5:15 pm.

The nominees are:

Kindergarten to Second Grade

Leah Blakenship College Heights Christian School
Meg Carlisle Jefferson Elementary
Bailey Gardner Royal Heights Elementary School
Shannon Harris Stapleton Elementary School
Beth Haubein Martin Luther School
Stephanie Lynch Soaring Heights Elementary School
Monica McGriff Dover Hill Elementary School
Sara Meyer Irving Elementary School
Kira Mitchell Jefferson Elementary
Alexa Murray Stapleton Elementary School
Shawna Sampson Irving Elementary School
Whitney Terry Eastmorland Elementary School
Nicole Thorn Jefferson Elementary School
Jaylee Todd Dover Hill Elementary School
Kelsey Vene Cecil Floyd Elementary School

Third to Fifth Grade

Mary Arnold Thomas Jefferson Independent Day School
Rebecca Askew College Heights Christian School
Sheenah Briggs Kelsey Norman Elementary School
Kari Dietrich Irving Elementary School
Molly Graham Cecil Floyd Elementary School
Tylan Harris Jefferson Elementary
James Hartzfeld Soaring Heights Elementary School
Hannah Horn Cecil Floyd Elementary School
Tracy Horton Soaring Heights Elementary School
Lisa Jolley Soaring Heights
Lori Lindsey Kelsey Norman Elementary School
Sophia Martin Jefferson Elementary
Roxcee McCully Soaring Heights Elementary School
Angela McPhail Eastmorland Elementary School
Tina Olson Cecil Floyd Elementary School
Terryle Pullum Soaring Heights Elementary School
Gabrielle Robinson Kelsey Norman Elementary School
Jessica Rogers Stapleton Elementary School
Amanda Sauer Kelsey Norman Elementary School
Tyler VanCleave McKinley Elementary School
Kristina Warden Stapleton Elementary School

 Sixth to Eighth Grade

Kim Alford North Middle School
Rachel Bowyer South Middle School
Leslie Coleman East Middle School
Laurel Cook South Middle School
Whitney Cummings North Middle School
Angela Fry St. Peter’s Middle School
Chandler Glasgow South Middle School
Michaela Glensky South Middle School
Leah Ingram South Middle School
Katie Juergens North Middle School
Jil McKinney College Heights Christian School
Melissa Moseley North Middle School
Natalie Prodan North Middle School
Jessica Sewing East Middle School
Morgan Smith South Middle School

Ninth to Twelfth Grade

Ryan Burnside Joplin High School
Joshua Carter Joplin High School
Ben Coltharp Joplin High School
Brad Douglas Joplin High School
Jeremy Finley Joplin High School
Shelly Greninger Joplin High School
Alan Linden Joplin High School
Hannah New Joplin High School
Janet Parker-Spain Roi S. Wood Campus
Robert Parsons Joplin High School
Tracy Saunders Joplin High School
Dave Smith Joplin High School
Amber Travis Joplin High School
Ashley Trotnic Joplin High School

Thank you to all the students and parents who took the time to nominate these teachers. And a special thank you to the title sponsor of this year’s program, Liberty Utilities, and the presenting sponsor, Missouri Southern State University’s Teacher Education Department.


Erin Slifka, Marketing & Public Information Manager
Joplin Area Chamber of Commerce

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.