Commission Accepting Nominations for Historic Preservation Awards

(Joplin, MO) – The Joplin Historic Preservation Commission will accept nominations from the public for the 2021 Joplin Historic Preservation Awards beginning Monday, March 1, 2021. Nomination forms may be downloaded from the City of Joplin’s website here. The deadline for nominations is Friday, April 30, 2021. Completed nominations may be mailed or dropped off to Planning & Community Development, Joplin City Hall, 602 S. Main Street, Joplin, MO 64801 or submitted via email to

The Joplin Preservation Awards Committee will meet in early May to score nominations and make their final recommendations to the Commission during their regular meeting scheduled for Tuesday, May 18, 2021. Awardees will be announced the following day.

The Joplin Historic Preservation Awards were established in 2019 to recognize people who have made significant contributions to historic preservation in Joplin, Missouri. You may nominate potential awardees for one of the following awards:

  • The Leslie Simpson Award – Awarded to an individual who has made significant contributions to historic preservation in Joplin by way of preservation administration, education, events, outreach, planning, research, or service.
  • The Jeff & Carolina Neal Award – Awarded to people who have made significant developments to historic preservation in Joplin by way of developing and restoring/revitalizing buildings and property within Joplin’s commercial corridors.
  • The Murphysburg Award – Awarded to neighborhood groups or residential property owners — regardless of whether their properties are in Murphysburg proper — who demonstrate the capacity for and illustrate the preservation of their homes, whether through achieving Local Landmark status, Local Historic District Status, community/neighborhood development, or otherwise making significant contributions to heritage/historic preservation in Joplin. 

For more information, contact Thomas Walters with the City of Joplin at 417.624.0820, ext. 539 or


Lynn Onstot, Public Information Officer
City of Joplin
417.624.0820, ext. 204

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.