Joplin City Council Welcomes Members of 2020-21 Youth Council

(Joplin, MO) Interested in working with all ages in our community, the Joplin City Council welcomed eight members to this year’s Joplin Youth Council at its October 5, 2020 meeting. The Youth Council was created last year to increase civic awareness and experience for high school students interested in government and community relations.

Joplin City Council began this program following a National League of Cities presentation highlighting the importance of providing service opportunities to students who exhibit an interest and initiative to assist their community.

Liaisons for the advisory board include Council Member Anthony Monteleone and former Council Member and Mayor Melodee Colbert-Kean. Mayor Ryan Stanley is also active with this group. Members are required to be residents of the City of Joplin and enrolled in grades 10 through 12. Terms are for one year and expire in May. Members may reapply at that time to continue serving on the Council.

Members of the 2020-21 Youth Council are:

Jane Min, Thomas Jefferson Independent Day School — Chairperson
Kambrea (Kami) Manning, Joplin High School — Vice-Chair & Public Relations Officer
Shrihari (Hari) Nagarajan, Thomas Jefferson Independent Day School — Secretary
John Wheeler, McAuley Catholic High School — Treasurer
Jake Saunders, Joplin High School
Caleb Thomas, College Heights Christian School
Riley Peterson, College Heights Christian School
Luke Johnson, College Heights Christian School 

The Youth Council’s service projects are to help increase awareness about mental health as related to the recent pandemic and identify available community resources to assist those in need. Board members will also volunteer at local food pantries and help with collections for these organizations, focusing on hygiene items that are sometimes overlooked by donors. The group is planning to travel to attend a Missouri legislative session in Jefferson City and visit the State Capitol.

The board meets twice a month during the school year. Whitney Pachlhofer, Executive Assistant to the City Manager, is their staff liaison.


Lynn Onstot, Public Information Manager
City of Joplin
417.624.0820, ext. 204

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.